How to Upgrade Your Video/Photo Equipment

At the beginning of the year, I made the decision to try to find a different hobby. My main hobby is playing video games, however, my husband is not a gamer. When I play video games I tend to ignore him and immerse myself in my little world. As much as he says that he doesn’t mind and that he enjoys seeing my happy, I really want to find something we can share. The blogging bug bit me again (after 19 years!) so what came to mind was to introduce him to my old hobby of photography and blogging.

Don’t get me wrong, we already have a lot of things we love and share, like traveling, so why not take traveling to another level and capture video and photographs? This would, not only create tangible memories we can revisit later, but also bring us together in building a memory trove.

My first digital camera was a Kodak EasyShare from 2003, followed by a Sony T-Series from 2004 (the one with the slide ‘door’ to turn it on and off), and then a really low-quality Casio Exilim (which broke after a month). After the Casio disappointment, I graduated university and moved to Texas. During a trip to Austin I decided I needed a camera so, on a whim, I bought the Canon PowerShot SD1300 IS in blue (2009-ish). I’ve had this camera until yesterday when I upgraded to the Canon G7x Mark II.

2017-02-07 04.46.28 1.jpg
Canon PowerShot SD1300 IS vs. Canon G7x Mark II

All my pictures from 2009 until yesterday have been taken with the SD1300. I cannot complain about the quality or robustness of the camera, as it takes great shots and the body has taken a battering (my dear mother dropped it twice in Italy in 2011). However, as I want to take more videos than before and learn more about professional photography, an upgrade was necessary.

Here is a list of actions and questions to keep in mind when upgrading video/photo equipment:

  • What will be the main purpose of the camera: video OR photography OR both?
  • Perform research on existing cameras – would you prefer compact OR SLR?
  • Check out existing camera reviews.
  • Check out your favorite YouTube videos and check which camera they have.
  • If you already have a digital camera, is it necessary to upgrade to the latest and greatest?
  • Have you played around with all the settings available in your current camera to achieve your goal?
  • Create a camera budget
  • Make sure your upgrade isn’t overkill – why spend more when less can give you exactly what you need?

Aside from the new camera, I bought the Joby GorillaPod Hybrid tripod. Still waiting for Amazon to deliver it. Can’t wait to try it out!

 

Leave a Reply

