How to Catalog Photos and Videos

Walking the Via Francigena in Tuscany with friends.

When I made the decision to start this blog, I decided to whip out my circa 2003 external hard drives. I had to be in the right frame of mind and ready because the memories encompass all of my years at university and other aspects of my life. Sometimes it is hard to look back as it’s poignant. Not sad in a negative sense, but the feeling of longing. University was the best time of my life and I miss it. Rather than the school, I miss the people. Living in England and far away from my family and old friends is very hard. However, a comforting thought is that, regardless if I lived in the US, a lot of my friends would not live near me as we all moved to different states when we graduated. So it is okay that I am far. They are always just a plane ride away.

So what did I uncover? Items range from old ICQ chat logs circa 2000 to embarrassing family videos, pictures of guys I used to date (lol) to old pets, old high school and university friends. It is truly wonderful. I’ve had a smile on my face for hours!

As I am going through everything I made the decision to catalog them in a way that they are easier to identify.

Here is what I recommend:

  • If not many pictures, change the current nondescript item names to meaningful names. Eg.IMG_26257 becomes Snowboarding with Mollie 2005. By the way, I was terrible at snowboarding.
  • If you have tons of photos, doing the above might not be the best. In this case, I recommend creating albums. This way you have all pictures from the same activity in one folder, easily identifiable.
  • If you’re like me, then you have hundreds of pictures. Why don’t you save those albums inside folders that contain the year? I have folders going back to 2002. Boggles my mind it’s been over a decade!
  • Definitely get an external hard drive to save all your pictures and videos. That way, you don’t fill up your laptop/PC’s memory space.
  • Have patience. If you have a few hours spare and enjoy looking back, this is for you. If you have a bit of adult ADHD (like me…), set out half an hour every other day until you’re finished.

I’m happy I am doing this as I had the idea of creating a photo album for my mom’s 60th birthday. I’ve always been the photographer of the family, however, never really shared the fruits of my labor. I just uploaded pictures to my external hard drives and left them there to not see the daylight until a decade later (wow.. a decade). Sad, isn’t it? Now a lot of them will be brought to life and shared, which makes me very happy.

I leave you with a picture of me snowboarding… and failing miserably. This was back in 2005. Yes, that’s a Hello Kitty beanie. I was 20.

 

may_snowboarding
Being awesome at snowboarding

 

Leave a Reply

